Tickets & Passes
My festival

RIGA IFF Feature Film Competition

RIGA IFF seeks innovative cinematic language and auteur expression being created within the Baltic Sea region and Nordic countries. The RIGA IFF Feature Film Competition reflects transitions and recent trends in cinema; by establishing a specific geographical frame, these reflections become even more intriguing as the cinematic works made on various sides of the same sea represent distinctly different schools, traditions, languages and visions. The ten films that are ultimately selected exhibit present-day contemplation about the cinema of tomorrow.


The competition programme is comprised of ten selected feature films with a minimum running time of 60 minutes for which the majority of production credit has been sourced in the Baltic Sea region (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia and Sweden) and in the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, including their associated territories – Greenland, the Faroe Islands and the Åland Islands). There are no genre restrictions – films may fall into documentary, fiction, animation, or any cross-genre category.
The submitted films must have been completed after 1 July 2019, and their Latvian premiere must take place during RIGA IFF. There is one exception to this rule – although it is preferred that the national premiere of participating Latvian films takes place during RIGA IFF, it is not a requirement.


The ten selected titles are evaluated by an international jury consisting of industry experts, theoreticians, filmmakers, and representatives from the international film festival community.
The RIGA IFF Award has been designed in collaboration with artist Ervins Broks. The winning director can share this eight-piece figurine – a rooster poured in bronze – among the film crew. The winner also receives a monetary prize of EUR 2000. The Awards Ceremony takes place on the second Saturday of the festival.


The call for submissions opens on 19 March 2020 and closes on 1 July 2020. The results will be announced by 10 September 2020.